Resident Wellness Champions Network

Residents and subspecialty residents – from any year of training and from any program or site – are eligible to join the network. Wellness Champions are ambassadors for wellness within their residency program/site.
They do this by:

  • Encouraging dialogue around wellness in residency;
  • Sharing wellness communication from the Resident Wellness Office;
  • Remaining familiar with support services and wellness resources;
  • Serving as a wellness contact for peers;
  • Providing feedback to the Resident Wellness Office related to the needs of their program/site.

Importantly, the Wellness Champion role does not involve counselling or advising others. Wellness Champions can comfortably have conversations about wellness-related concerns with peers, and will refer to resources as appropriate. The Wellness Champions Network, involving both residents and faculty, will facilitate the sharing of ideas and critical discussion related to resident wellness at UBC.

Listed below are the identified Wellness Champion(s) for each program.

Don’t see your program listed? A Wellness Champion may not yet have been identified for your program, consider volunteering to represent your program or site! Time commitment is minimal (1-2 hours per month).

Alison Read, PGY5
Hardy Zietsman, PGY4
Vishal Varshney, PGY4
Disha Mehta, PGY3
Martha DiGiuseppe, PGY2

Bez Toosi, PGY4

Ian Wong, PGY1






Ilya Mukovozov, PGY1






Nathan Plaa, PGY4

Kevin O'Riordan, PGY2

Britt Bailey, PGY1




Kerry Spearing, PGY1

Lauren Arthurs, PGY2

Sarah Pankratz, PGY1

Version 2Lisa Harvey, PGY2


Carmen Chornell, PGY1



Judith Kwok, PGY1


Jeanette Pedersen, PGY1

Joe Finkler, Faculty

Suhani Thakore, PGY1

Lisa Wang, PGY1

Erica Reiser, PGY2

Travis Musgrave, PGY2





Abhinav Joshi, PGY1

Talveen Gill, PGY1


Jon Ramkumar, PGY2





kdegirolamoKristin DeGirolamo, PGY3




Annie Lalande, PGY1

becky-schnurr-howsamRebecca Schnurr-Howsam, PGY3





Hasan Kular, PGY4


saghar-sadeghiSaghar Sadeghi, PGY3





Tyler Murray, PGY2





Phoebe Cheng, PGY1

Jessica Belle, PGY1

Jessica Clark, PGY3

Tyler Wilson, PGY3

Noor Lail, PGY2

Suzana Gilmour, PGY4

Alannah Smrke, PGY5

Chris Uy, PGY3

Claire Gowdy, PGY6

riki-dayanRiki Dayan, PGY2





Sarah Mah, PGY2

Jennifer Yam, PGY4

Katie Clapson, PGY4

Wilson-IanIan Wilson, PGY4





Frederick Kozak, Faculty

willy-phanWai Lee (Willy) Phan, PGY3

michael-butterfieldMike Butterfield, PGY6

Meg-KilvertMeg Kilvert, PGY4





James Harris, PGY1

Mara Tietzen, PGY2

Version 2Dianna Louie, Faculty





Janet Greenman, Faculty
Jennifer Druker, Faculty
Laura Sauve, Faculty

vikram-saghaney_member-profileVikram Sabhaney, Faculty

Melissa Harvey, Faculty

mary-dunbarMary Dunbar, PGY5

Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetJordan Farag, PGY2





Geoff Frost, PGY1

Jay Ching Chieh, PGY2

Siri Reinbold, PGY3

Kent Comeau, PGY2
Pulkit Singh, PGY4

Daegan Sit,  PGY1

Mohammad Bardi,  PGY4

Chris Nguan, Faculty